MINUTES FROM THE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF LETHBRIDGE SCHOOL DIVISION HELD SEPTEMBER 10, 2024.

IN ATTENDANCE:

Trustees: Andrea Andreachuk, Tyler Demers, Kristina Larkin, Christine Light,

Allison Purcell, Genny Steed, Craig Whitehead

Administrators: Mike Nightingale; Robbie Charlebois, Christine Lee, Morag Asquith

Tina Carnegie (Recorder)

The Superintendent, Mike Nightingale called the meeting to order at 2:07 p.m.

Welcome and Territorial Acknowledgement
 Superintendent Mike Nightingale read a territorial acknowledgement.

Welcome and Territorial Acknowledgement

2. <u>Election of Chair</u>

Superintendent Mike Nightingale called for nominations for Chair to hold office during the pleasure of the Board.

Election of Chair

Trustee Andrea Andreachuk nominated Trustee Allison Purcell for the position of Chair for the 2024-2025 term.

Trustee Genny Steed nominated Trustee Craig Whitehead for the position of Chair for the 2024-2025 term.

Trustee Kristina Larkin nominated Trustee Christine Light for the position of Chair for the 2024-2025 term.

Superintendent Mike Nightingale called three times for further nominations and there were none. The nominees were each given an opportunity to speak before voting. Associate Superintendent Christine Lee and Superintendent Mike Nightingale took the votes to be counted.

As no candidate had a majority after the first ballot, procedure as per Policy 204.6 was followed to break the tie and held a second ballot.

Superintendent Mike Nightingale declared Christine Light the Chair of the Board for the 2024-2025 school year. Congratulations to Christine Light.

Christine Light assumed the Chair's position.

Trustee Andrea Andreachuk moved:

"to destroy the ballots".

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Destroy the ballots 7155/24

2. Approval of Agenda

Trustee Kristina Larkin moved:

"that the agenda be approved, as presented."

Approval of Agenda

7156/24

3. Election of Vice-Chair

The Chair called for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair to hold office during the pleasure of the Board.

Election of Vice-Chair

Trustee Tyler Demers nominated Kristina Larkin for the position of Vice-Chair for the 2024-2025 term.

Trustee Andrea Andreachuk nominated Allison Purcell for the position of Vice-Chair for the 2024-2025 term.

Trustee Craig Whitehead nominated Genny Steed for the position of Vice-Chair for the 2024-2025 term.

Chair Christine Light called three times for further nominations and there were none. Associate Superintendent Christine Lee and Superintendent Mike Nightingale took the votes to be counted. As no candidate had a majority after the first ballot, procedure as per Policy 204.6 was followed to break the tie and held a second ballot.

Superintendent Mike Nightingale declared Trustee Genny Steed as Vice-Chair for the 2024-2025 school year. Congratulations to Genny Steed.

Trustee Craig Whitehead moved:

"to destroy the ballets."

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Destroy the ballets 7157/24

4. Creation of Alternate Vice Chair

Motion moved by Craig Whitehead to create the position of Alternate Vice-Chair FOR: Christine Light, Allison Purcell, Tyler Demers, Craig Whitehead, Genny Steed, Andrea Andreachuk AGAINST: Kristina Larkin

CARRIED

Creation of Alternate Vice-Chair

5. Approval of Bank Borrowing Resolution

Trustee Kristina Larkin moved:

"that the Board approve the 2024-2025 bank borrowing resolution in the amount of \$500,000 to finance the operation of the school division as required, pending receipt of government funding, and that a copy of this resolution be appended to the minutes of this meeting."

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Approval of Bank Borrowing Resolution 7158/24

6. Approval of Signing Authority

Trustee Kristina Larkin moved:

"that the bank signing authority be the Board Chair or the Vice-Chair and the Secretary-Treasurer or, in their absence, the Director of Finance, with the exception that for the purpose of signing cheques, the signing authority shall be the Superintendent of Schools and/or the Secretary-Treasurer and/or Director of Finance and further, that the Board authorize the bank to establish an overdraft lending agreement which has been duly executed by the proper officers of the Board when loans are required."

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Approval of Signing Authority 7159/24

7. Committee Reports and Terms of Reference

All Committee reports and Terms of Reference will be reviewed at the September 2024 regular board meeting.

Committee Reports and Terms of Reference

8. Appointments to Committees

*Denotes Chair

7.1 Standing Committees

- 7.1.1 Board Audit Committee
 - *Tyler Demers, Genny Steed
- 7.1.2 Board Budget Committee
 - *Kristina Larkin, Andrea Andreachuk
- 7.1.3 Community Engagement Committee
 - *Andrea Andreachuk, Christine Light
- 7.1.5 Division Wellness Committee
 - *Andrea Andreachuk, Kristina Larkin

Appointments to Committees

- 7.1.6 Facilities Committee
 - *Tyler Demers, Allison Purcell
- 7.1.7 Indigenous Education Committee
 *Christine Light, Andrea Andreachuk
- 7.1.8 Policy Advisory Committee
 - *Kristina Larkin, Genny Steed
- 7.1.9 Poverty Intervention Committee
 *Kristina Larkin, Christine Light
- 1.1.10 School Boundary Alignment Committee
 - *Craig Whitehead, Christine Light, Allison Purcell
- 1.1.11 Spirit of 51 Committee
 - *Andrea Andreachuk, Tyler Demers
- 1.1.12 Superintendent Evaluation Committee
 Christine Light, Craig Whitehead, Allison Purcell

7.2 Special (ad hoc) Committees

- 7.2.1 ATA Negotiating Committee
 *Craig Whitehead, Allison Purcell
- 7.2.2 CUPE (Local 290) Negotiating Committee *Kristina Larkin, Andrea Andreachuk
- 7.2.3 CUPE (Local 2843) Negotiating Committee *Christine Light, Tyler Demers
- 7.2.4 Expulsion Committee Two trustees as needed
- 7.2.5 Non-Union Staff Committee
 *Craig Whitehead, Genny Steed
- 7.2.6 Policy Review Committee -Entire Board

7.3 Joint Committees

- 7.3.1 ATA Working Conditions Committee *Allison Purcell, Andrea Andreachuk
- 7.3.2 City/School Boards Committee *Christine Light, Kristina Larkin
- 7.3.3 Economic Development
 Education Seat has been passed to Holy Spirit for their 2-year term

7.4 Appointment of Board Representatives:

- 7.4.1 ASBA Zone 6
 - Craig Whitehead, Christine Light (alternate)
- 7.4.2 Division School Council
 Genny Steed, Craig Whitehead, (alternate)

Further discussion about assigning a rotating role for the alternate on September 24

- 7.4.3 Division Student Leadership Kristina Larkin
- 7.4.4 TEBA

Allison Purcell

- 7.4.5 Team Lethbridge
 Christine Light, Allison Purcell
- 7.4.6 Public School Boards Association of Alberta Craig Whitehead, Allison Purcell (Alternate)

Adjournment at 4:07

Adjournment 7161/24

Trustee Christine Light moved: "to adjourn the Organizational Meeting."

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Christine Light	Christine Lee
Chair	Associate Superintendent
	Business and Operations