MINUTES FROM THE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF LETHBRIDGE SCHOOL DIVISION HELD OCTOBER 27, 2020.

IN ATTENDANCE:

Trustees: Clark Bosch; Tyler Demers; Jan Foster; Donna Hunt; Doug James;

Christine Light; Lola Major

Administrators: Cheryl Gilmore; Morag Asquith; Rik Jesse; Christine Lee;

LeeAnne Tedder (Recorder)

The Superintendent called the meeting to order at 3:42 p.m.

1. Election of Chair

Election of Chair

Superintendent Cheryl Gilmore called for nominations for Chair to hold office during the pleasure of the Board.

Trustee Jan Foster nominated Trustee Christine Light for the position of Chair for the 2020-2021 term. Christine Light accepted the nomination.

Trustee Lola Major nominated Trustee Clark Bosch for the position of Chair for the 2020-2021 term. Clark Bosch accepted the nomination.

Superintendent Cheryl Gilmore called three times for further nominations and there were none. The nominees were each given an opportunity to speak before voting. Associate Superintendent Christine Lee and Superintendent Cheryl Gilmore took the votes to be counted.

Superintendent Cheryl Gilmore declared Christine Light the Chair of the Board for the 2020-2021 school year. Congratulations to Christine Light and thank you to Clark Bosch.

Christine Light assumed the Chair's position.

Trustee Tyler Demers moved "to destroy the ballots".

Destroy the ballots

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY 6579/20

2. Approval of Agenda

Trustee Tyler Demers moved:

Approval of Agenda

6580/20

"that the agenda be approved."

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. Election of Vice-Chair

The Chair called for nomination for the position of Vice-Chair to hold office during the pleasure of the Board.

Trustee Christine Light nominated Tyler Demers for the position of Vice-Chair for the 2020-2021 term. Tyler accepted the nomination.

Trustee Tyler Demers nominated Clark Bosch for the position of Vice-Chair for the 2020-2021 term. Clark declined the nomination.

Chair Christine Light called three times for further nominations and there being none, Trustee Tyler Demers was declared Vice-Chair.

Election of Vice-Chair 6581/20

4. Approval of Bank Borrowing Resolution

Trustee Jan Foster moved:

"that the Board approve the 2020-2021 bank borrowing resolution in the amount of \$500,000 to finance the operation of the school division as required, pending receipt of government funding, and that a copy of this resolution be appended to the minutes of this meeting."

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Approval of Bank Borrowing Resolution 6582/20

Approval of Signing Authority

Trustee Clark Bosch moved:

"that the bank signing authority be the Chairman or the Vice-Chairman and the Secretary-Treasurer or, in her absence, the Director of Finance, with the exception that for the purpose of signing cheques, the signing authority shall be the Superintendent of Schools and the Secretary-Treasurer and Director of Finance and further, that the Board authorize the bank to establish an overdraft lending agreement which has been duly executed by the proper officers of the Board when loans are required."

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Approval of Signing Authority 6583/20

6. Committee Reports and Terms of Reference

All Committee reports and Terms of Reference were reviewed at the September 2020 meeting.

Committee Reports and Terms of Reference

7. Appointments to Committees

*denotes Chair

7.1 Standing Committees

7.1.1 Board Audit Committee
*Tyler Demers, Clark Bosch

Appointments to Committees 6584/20

- 7.1.2 Board Budget Committee
 - * Clark Bosch, Donna Hunt
- 7.1.3 Boundary Review

West – Jan Foster, Doug James, Donna Hunt

South – Doug James, Donna Hunt

North - Doug James, Donna Hunt, Christine Light

- 7.1.4 Community Engagement Committee
 - *Jan Foster, Christine Light
- 7.1.5 Division Wellness Committee
 - *Donna Hunt, Jan Foster
- 7.1.6 Facilities Committee
 - * Doug James, Jan Foster
- 7.1.7 Indigenous Advisory Committee
 - *Doug James, Donna Hunt (alternate)
- 7.1.8 Policy Advisory Committee
 - *Lola Major, Clark Bosch (Alternate)
- 7.1.9 Poverty Intervention Committee
 - *Christine Light
- 7.1.10 Spirit of 51 Committee
 - *Lola Major, Tyler Demers
- 7.1.11 Superintendent Evaluation Committee
 - *Christine Light, Lola Major, Jan Foster

7.2 Special (ad hoc) Committees

- 7.2.1 ATA Negotiating Committee
 - *Clark Bosch, Tyler Demers
- 7.2.2 CUPE (Local 290) Negotiating Committee
 - *Donna Hunt, Clark Bosch
- 7.2.3 CUPE (Local 2843) Negotiating Committee
 - *Tyler Demers, Christine Light
- 7.2.4 Non-Union Staff Committee
 - *Jan Foster, Christine Light

7.3 Joint Committees

- 7.3.1 ATA Working Conditions Committee
 - *Christine Light, Donna Hunt
- 7.3.2 City/School Boards Committee
 - *Christine Light, Tyler Demers

7.4 Appointment of Board Representatives:

- 7.4.1 ASBA Zone 6 Executive
 - Donna Hunt, Doug James (alternate)
- 7.4.2 Division School Council
 - Doug James, Christine Light (alternate)

- 7.4.3 Division Student Advisory Council Jan Foster, Doug James
- 7.4.4 TEBA
 Tyler Demers
- 7.4.5 Team Lethbridge Christine Light, Lola Major
- 8 <u>Adjournment</u> at 4:07 p.m. Trustee Tyler Demers moved to adjourn.

Adjournment

Christine Light Christine Lee
Chair Associate Superintendent

Associate Superintendent Business Affairs