MINUTES FROM THE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF LETHBRIDGE SCHOOL DIVISION HELD OCTOBER 22, 2019.

IN ATTENDANCE:

Trustees: Clark Bosch; Tyler Demers; Jan Foster; Donna Hunt; Doug James;

Christine Light; Lola Major

Administrators: Cheryl Gilmore; Morag Asquith; Rik Jesse; Christine Lee;

LeeAnne Tedder (Recorder)

The Superintendent called the meeting to order at 3:39 p.m.

1. Election of Chair

Election of Chair

Superintendent, Cheryl Gilmore, called for nominations for Chair to hold office during the pleasure of the Board.

Trustee Christine Light nominated Trustee Clark Bosch for the position of Chair for the 2019-2020 term.

Superintendent Cheryl Gilmore called three times for further nominations and there being none, declared Trustee Clark Bosch as Chair.

Clark Bosch assumed the Chair's position.

2. Approval of Agenda

Approval of Agenda

Trustee Jan Foster moved: 6918/19

"that the agenda be approved." CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. Election of Vice-Chair

The Chair called for nomination for the position of Vice-Chair to hold office during the pleasure of the Board.

Trustee Lola Major nominated Trustee Christine Light for the position of Vice-Chair for the 2019-2020 term.

Chair Clark Bosch called three times for further nominations and there being none, Trustee Christine Light was declared Vice-Chair.

Election of Vice-Chair 6919/19

4. Approval of Bank Borrowing Resolution

Trustee Tyler Demers moved:

Approval of Bank Borrowing Resolution 6920/19 "that the Board approve the 2019-2020 bank borrowing resolution in the amount of \$500,000 to finance the operation of the school division as required, pending receipt of government funding, and that a copy of this resolution be appended to the minutes of this meeting."

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

5. Approval of Signing Authority

Trustee Donna Hunt moved:

"that the bank signing authority be the Chairman or the Vice-Chairman and the Secretary-Treasurer or, in their absence, the Director of Finance, with the exception that for the purpose of signing cheques, the signing authority shall be the Superintendent of Schools and the Secretary-Treasurer and Director of Finance and further, that the Board authorize the bank to establish an overdraft lending agreement which has been duly executed by the proper officers of the Board when loans are required."

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Approval of Signing Authority 6921/19

6. Committee Reports and Terms of Reference

All Committee reports and Terms of Reference were reviewed at the September 2019 meeting.

Committee Reports and Terms of Reference

7. Appointments to Committees

*denotes Chair

7.1 Standing Committees

7.1.1 Facilities Committee:

*Doug James, Tyler Demers

7.1.2 Policy Advisory Committee:

*Lola Major, Clark Bosch (Alternate)

7.1.3 Community Engagement Committee:

*Christine Light, Jan Foster

7.1.4 Spirit of 51 Committee:

*Tyler Demers, Lola Major

7.1.5 Superintendent Evaluation Committee:

*Clark Bosch, Lola Major, Christine Light

7.1.6 Board Budget Committee:

*Donna Hunt, Christine Light

7.1.6 F.N.M.I. Advisory Committee

* Doug James, Donna Hunt (alternate)

7.1.1 Poverty Intervention Committee:

*Christine Light, Lola Major (alternate)

7.1.7 Board Audit Committee:

*Clark Bosch, Donna Hunt

7.1.8 Division Wellness Committee:

*Donna Hunt, Jan Foster

Appointments to Committees 6922/19

7.2 Special (ad hoc) Committees

7.2.1 ATA Negotiating Committee:

*Jan Foster, Clark Bosch

7.2.2 CUPE (Local 290) Negotiating Committee:

*Tyler Demers, Donna Hunt

7.2.3 CUPE (Local 2843) Negotiating Committee:

*Christine Light, Tyler Demers

7.2.4 Non Union Staff Committee:

*Tyler Demers, Jan Foster

7.3 Joint Committees

7.3.1 ATA Working Conditions Committee:

*Clark Bosch, Donna Hunt

7.3.2 Business and Education Committee:

*Doug James, Tyler Demers (alternate)

7.3.3 City/School Boards Committee:

*Lola Major, Jan Foster

7.4 Appointment of Board Representatives:

7.4.1 ASBA Zone 6 Executive:

Donna Hunt, Clark Bosch (alternate)

7.4.2 Division School Council:

Christine Light, Doug James (alternate)

7.4.3 Division Student Advisory Council:

Lola Major, Doug James

7.4.4 TEBA

Tyler Demers

7.4.5 Team Lethbridge

Christine Light, Donna Hunt

8. Adjournment at 4:09 p.m.

Adjournment

Clark Bosch	Christine Lee
Chair	Associate Superintendent
	Business Affairs