MINUTES FROM THE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF LETHBRIDGE SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 51 HELD OCTOBER 23, 2018.

IN ATTENDANCE:

Trustees: Clark Bosch; Tyler Demers; Jan Foster; Donna Hunt; Doug James;

Christine Light; Lola Major

Administrators: Cheryl Gilmore; Morag Asquith; Rik Jesse; Christine Lee;

LeeAnne Tedder (Recorder)

The Superintendent called the meeting to order at 3:50 p.m.

Election of Chair

Election of Chair

Superintendent, Cheryl Gilmore, called for nominations for Chair to hold office during the pleasure of the Board.

Trustee Doug James nominated Trustee Clark Bosch for the position of Chair for the 2018-2019 term.

Superintendent Cheryl Gilmore called three times for further nominations and there being none, declared Trustee Clark Bosch as Chair.

Clark Bosch assumed the Chair's position.

2. Approval of Agenda

Approval of Agenda

6780/18

Trustee Jan Foster moved: "that the agenda be approved."

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. Election of Vice-Chair

The Chair called for nomination for the position of Vice-Chair to hold office during the pleasure of the Board.

Trustee Lola Major nominated Trustee Jan Foster for the position of Vice-Chair for the 2018-2019 term.

Trustee Donna Hunt nominated Trustee Christine Light for the position of Vice-Chair for the 2018-2019 term.

Chair Clark Bosch called three times for further nominations and there being none, a vote was held by ballot and Trustee Christine

Election of Vice-Chair 6781/18

Light was declared Vice-Chair.

Ballots destroyed 6782/18

Trustee Donna Hunt moved:

"to destroy the ballots."

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

4. Approval of Bank Borrowing Resolution

Trustee Tyler Demers moved:

"that the Board approve the 2018-2019 bank borrowing resolution in the amount of \$500,000 to finance the operation of the school district as required, pending receipt of government funding, and that a copy of this resolution be appended to the minutes of this meeting."

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Approval of Bank Borrowing Resolution 6783/18

5. Approval of Signing Authority

Trustee Tyler Demers moved:

"that the bank signing authority be the Chairman or the Vice-Chairman and the Secretary-Treasurer or, in her absence, the Director of Finance, with the exception that for the purpose of signing cheques, the signing authority shall be the Superintendent of Schools and the Secretary-Treasurer and Director of Finance and further, that the Board authorize the bank to establish an overdraft lending agreement which has been duly executed by the proper officers of the Board when loans are required."

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Approval of Signing Authority 6784/18

6. Committee Reports and Terms of Reference

All Committee reports and Terms of Reference were reviewed at the September 2018 meeting. Terms of Reference updated for District Wellness and FNMI Committees will be brought to the November meeting for Board approval. Committee Reports and Terms of Reference

7. Appointments to Committees

*denotes Chair

7.1 Standing Committees

7.1.1 Facilities Committee:

*Doug James, Tyler Demers

7.1.2 Policy Advisory Committee:

*Lola Major, Donna Hunt (Alternate)

7.1.3 Spirit of 51 Committee:

*Lola Major, Tyler Demers

7.1.4 Superintendent Evaluation Committee:

Appointments to Committees 6785/18

*Clark Bosch, Jan Foster, Lola Major

7.1.5 Board Budget Committee:

*Donna Hunt, Clark Bosch

7.1.6 Poverty Intervention Committee:

Christine Light

7.1.7 Board Audit Committee:

*Clark Bosch, Donna Hunt

7.1.8 District Wellness Committee:

*Donna Hunt, Doug James

7.1.9 Community Engagement Committee:

*Christine Light, Jan Foster

7.1.10 FNMI Committee

* Doug James, Donna Hunt (alternate)

7.2 Special (ad hoc) Committees

7.2.1 ATA Negotiating Committee:

*Jan Foster, Clark Bosch

7.2.2 CUPE (Local 290) Negotiating Committee:

*Clark Bosch, Tyler Demers

7.2.3 CUPE (Local 2843) Negotiating Committee:

*Tyler Demers, Donna Hunt

7.2.4 Non Union Staff Committee:

*Jan Foster, Tyler Demers

7.3 Joint Committees

7.3.1 ATA Working Conditions Committee:

*Clark Bosch , Donna Hunt

7.3.2 Business and Education Committee:

*Doug James, Lola Major (alternate)

7.3.3 City/School Boards Committee:

*Jan Foster, Lola Major

7.4 Appointment of Board Representatives:

7.4.1 ASBA Zone 6 Executive:

*Donna Hunt, Clark Bosch (alternate)

7.4.2 District School Council:

Doug James, Christine Light (alternate)

7.4.3 District Student Advisory Council:

Lola Major, Doug James

7.4.4 TEBA

Clark Bosch

7.4.5 Team Lethbridge

Christine Light, Tyler Demers

7.4.6 Community and Social Development Committee Jan Foster

3. <u>Adjournment</u> at 4:19 p.m.		Adjournment
Clark Bosch	Christine Lee	_
Chair	Associate Superintender	