Victoria Park High School awards ceremony recognizes student efforts

Victoria Park High School handed out the hardware at the school’s annual awards ceremony on Wednesday.

The following is a list of all the 2016/2017 award winners.

Munchies Food Services Most Improved Student Awards (presented to the student at each grade level who has shown improvement in academic grades and has shown substantial growth in attitude, behavior, co-operation and citizenship):

Grade 10: Danika Norton             

Grade 11: Julia Hofer

Grade 12: Alisa Mustafa

Munchies Food Services Academic Excellence Awards (presented to the student at each grade level with the highest average in combined academic subjects):

Grade 10: Nadilie Merrick

Grade 11: Avery Phillips

Grade 12: Anthony Auger

Occupational Component Awards (presented to the top student in each of the CTS programs offered at VPHS):

Art: Emelia Kazakawich                 

Building Services: Anthony Auger            

Cosmetology: Samantha Kolasko

Food Services: Julia Hofer

Stepping Away: Melinda Bowns and James Hartwick

Jeb Trotter Memorial Award (presented to the student who best combines academics and a work experience placement):

Adam Griffiths

KRJ Memorial Citizenship Award (presented to the student who has gone out of their way to accept and help their fellow students):

Shayden Coburn              

Ken Smith Memorial/Laidlaw Scholarship (presented to a student who has overcome adversity and made a positive change in life):

Victoria Burge and Julia Hofer

D.R. Yates Award (presented to the student who has demonstrated excellence in the area of Fine Arts. Preference is given to students pursuing a career in the field of the arts):

Madison Pollock              

Anna Best-Marshall Award (presented to a student who has shown academic achievement, has been involved in school athletics and fine arts, as well as, actively involved in the community):

Sinead Siever

Grace Dainty Award (presented to a student for academic excellence at the high school level):

Anthony Auger  

Turcotte Award (presented to students from the previous graduating class who have successfully completed a year in a post-secondary program):

Ty Marshall

Matoomoohkotokii (First Rock) Award (presented to a First Nations, Métis, or Inuit student who has demonstrated academic achievement, leadership, citizenship and consistent attendance):

Albert Chief Body and Jayme First Rider

Victoria Park Scholarship :

Teresa Huszar

Jeff Payne Memorial Scholarship:             

Autumn-Sky Paul

Victoria Park High School Scholarship:  

Samantha Kolasko

Fast Forward High School Completion Scholarship:           

Julio Vasquez

Date posted: June 15, 2017